Home >> News >> Staffordshire Youth Awards 2021

Staffordshire Youth Awards 2021

Sporting Communities CIC Logo

Thu 4 Nov 2021

The Staffordshire Youth Awards 2021 was born out of the M.Y Voice Youth program delivered across the Staffordshire Moorlands funded through the Big Lottery. It was forged out of a genuine need to celebrate which came from the young people on the program during the height of the pandemic with an expressed desire that young people should be 'seen and heard’.  As a result the idea of a celebratory event championing the efforts of young people who have endured pressures and personal struggle often out the public gaze was born.

What better way to bring those inspiring stories of endurance, courage, and creativity to life by showcasing the very first Staffordshire Youth Awards to honour all the young people across Staffordshire. Staged at Biddulph Town Hall, the night began with an inspiring speech by MP Karen Bradley who set the scene, and then two headline sponsors Fox Barn Studios and the Federation of Detached Youth Work. 

Eight specific categories were identified which people across Staffordshire were asked to put forward nominees. The selection process was extremely difficult for the select panel choose a winner, runner up and special commendation as all the submissions were worthy.

On the night those in receipt of recognition were:

Outstanding Contribution to the Community Award

Sponsored by The Federation of Detached Youth Work and Fox Barn Studios

Archie Hadfield – Winner 

Molly Riley - Runner up


Inspiration Young Person Award

Sponsored by Asha North Staffordshire

Ashton Hulme – Winner 

Sol Ashworth-Runner Up


Team Award

Sponsored by All The Small Things CIC

UC Dance - Winners

RicNic Burton Production Team- Runner up


Development Award 

Sponsored by Alsager Oven Cleaners

Liam Brookes – Winner 

Arun Kandola-Runner Up


Youth Voice Award

Sponsored by Staffordshire Chambers of Commerce

Weston Road Year Councils 10/11 - Winner 

John Robson-Runner up


Young Volunteer Award 

Sponsored by Kidsgrove Sports Centre Community Group

Liam Thompsett – Winner 

Georgia Dawson-Runner Up


Peer Champion Award

Sponsored by Oak Tree Music

Lucie Heathcote – winner 

Beth Roberts-Runner up


Participant of the Year Award

Sponsored by Sporting Communities

Alfie Goodwin- Winner


The atmosphere was electric as each nomination was called up to collect their prestigious award the audience responded by raucous applause making the experience for the young people and the presenter Joe from Churnet Sound Radio memorable. The evening was accompanied by a wonderful buffet supplied by Biddulph High schools catering team and the evening was rounded up by an inspiring optimistic ‘future for the  youth’ speech from Staffordshire Moorlands District Councils Cllr Joe Porter.

"We would like to thank Biddulph Town Hall for all their help and support in the planning of the event, MP Karen Bradly for her opening statement, Cllr Mark Deville representing Staffordshire County Council, Staged Theatre group for the sound and lighting, Churnet Sound for their on the night presentation, Cllr Joe Porter for his closing comments, and Biddulph High schools catering team. It demonstrated what could be achieved all working together for the young people of Staffordshire- thank you!"

Ross Podyma-Director of Strategy, Sporting Communities CIC